Does anyone else just get burnt out by these giant open-world games?

elysse77

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 5

#1  Edited By elysse77
Member since 2019 • 2 Posts

Hello everyone,

So I recently started playing AC Odyssey, and it just is too overwhelming. I open up my quest log and I just see menial tasks again and again; none of it is enjoyable or worth my time as a player; it feels like just busy work with awkward dialogue and characters I have no interest at all in. The gameplay is great sure, and the game looks beautiful, but the game in some way just feels boring, almost lifeless.NoxVidMateMobdro

I guess what I'm trying to get at is these AAA open-world games are just getting so repetitive year after year... how many bandit camps or fetch quests can I do before I just give up? It's weird because I absolutely love the open-world genre, but developers need to make me invested in why I'm even playing your game. Every environment looks the exact same, the map is just gigantic for the sake of it, not for any reasonable gameplay decision to respect the player's time. It's come to the point where I don't even want to start up the game because it's just content overload. Odyssey is the video game equivalent of modern superhero movies (no offense to Marvel fans).

Unpopular opinion I know, but we've reached a point where games are sacrificing quality for quantity... I'd 100% rather have half the amount of side quests and main missions and a much smaller map if that meant content I actually care about.

Thank you!

Sevenizz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#2 Sevenizz
Member since 2010 • 6462 Posts

I’ve come to the conclusion that I just don’t like RPGs. Open world or not (aren’t they all open world?).

Coolyfett

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 36

#3 Coolyfett
Member since 2008 • 6276 Posts