Lavamelon

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By Lavamelon
Member since 2016 • 849 Posts

Has anybody heard of a tiny company called Valve? Well, their Steam platform just reached over 36.3 million players online at the same time. Yeah, that number is pretty impressive, no questions about it.

On one hand, I am happy for Valve's success (I have been using Steam since 2009), but on the other hand I cannot help but feel this enormous number proves that Valve are a monopoly. I have spoken about this problem here on Gamespot on several occasions, but unfortunately most PC gamers tend to turn a blind eye to it and try to justify the monopoly.

Please don't give me the whole "Valve has massive success because they have better social features than other launchers" argument. Steam has been a monopoly well before it had any social features worth writing home about. If you look at Steam back in 2004 or 2005, it was just a simple launcher with barely any social features to talk about. Yet that didn't stop them from being a monopoly shortly afterwards.

36.3m of us were on Steam earlier today, and yes, that's another new record | Eurogamer.net

Anyways, congratulations to Lord Gaben on this huge number.

Worlds_Apart

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 7

User Lists: 5

#2 Worlds_Apart
Member since 2017 • 499 Posts

But don't they have competition which customers can choose to use instead of Steam? I thought a monopoly was to have total or exclusive control over a market.

judaspete

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#3 judaspete
Member since 2005 • 7292 Posts

@worlds_apart: A monopoly doesn't necessarily have to be the only player in a market, they just have such a large market share that they can stifle competition.