ni6htmare01

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By ni6htmare01
Member since 2005 • 3984 Posts

Hey guys. Thanks for all the great advice you guys gave me. I’m starting to purchase parts for my new mini gaming PC. So far I got myself a Ryzen 9 5900, RTX 3070 and Samsung 980 PRO m.2 NVMe 2 tb with really good deals thanks to Prime Day and all the Anti Prime Day.

Now my question is about ITX motherboard. Which one would you Guys prefer if it is your build.

MSI MPG B550I GAMING EDGE max WIFI Mini ITX

https://www.newegg.com/msi-mpg-b550i-gaming-edge-max-wifi/p/N82E16813144407?Item=9SIA4REFK62931&SortField=0&SummaryType=0&PageSize=10&SelectedRating=-1&VideoOnlyMark=False&IsFeedbackTab=true#scrollFullInfo

or GIGABYTE B550I AORUS PRO AX AM4 AMD B550 Mini-ITX

https://www.newegg.com/gigabyte-b550i-aorus-pro-ax/p/N82E16813145222?Item=N82E16813145222

I’m a total nOOb when it comes to these newer build. When I look at the Gigabyte motherboard NMVe support list from there official website I only saw Samsung 980 Pro m.2 NVMe 1 tb drive not the 2 tb one. It shouldn’t be a problem right?

Thank you so much guys. You have been great help here.

04dcarraher

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#2 04dcarraher
Member since 2004 • 23829 Posts

SSD compatibility on motherboards is almost universal, and typically do not care what the brand or model as long as the drive matches the connector requirements. So if one motherboard officially supports 1tb of a model it will support the 2tb model. Board manufacturers dont check every single brand or model of every item that can connect to their boards.

I would go with the GIGABYTE board because its cheaper, there is no real difference between the two besides slight difference in rear I/O connections

vistakril

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

User Lists: 5

#3 vistakril
Member since 2023 • 1 Posts